Sri. Justice P. Sathasivam

Governor of Kerala


Prof. C. Raveendranath

Minister for Education
Government of Kerala.

Vice-Chancellor Dr. J. Letha
Pro-Vice-Chancellor Dr. P.G. Sankaran
Registrar Dr. S. David Peter
Finance Officer Sri. Sebastian Ouseph
Controller of Examinations Dr. Sunil K. Narayanankutty



In keeping with the motto of the University; “Tejasvinavadhithamastu”, which conveys, “May learning illumine us both, the teacher and the taught”, the atmosphere in the campus is vibrant and intellectual. Cochin University of Science & Technology (CUSAT) is always on the move, girding up its loins with grit and determination to unravel the myriad, unexplored mysteries of knowledge.

Originally known as University of Cochin, the University came into being in 1971 through an Act of the Legislature resultant to a concerted campaign for quality postgraduate education in the State of Kerala.  Reorganization of the University into Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT) saw the fulfillment of the aspirations of the pioneers that spearheaded the movement for establishment of a Science & Technology University in the State.  The process of reorientation resulted in redefining the objectives as “the promotion of graduate and post graduate studies and advanced research in applied science, technology, industry, commerce, management and social science.”
The Syndicate, Academic Council and Senate are the Principal Authorities of the University.  The academic structure comprises of ten Faculties viz. Architecture, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Humanities, Law, Marine Science, Medical Sciences and Technology, Science, Social Science and Technology.  There are Boards of Studies in different Faculties also.  A Sophisticated Test and Instrumentation Centre (STIC) was established in 1996 in collaboration with the Government of Kerala.  The Government of Kerala has recently established three inter-university centres in CUSAT, in the areas of Nanotechnology, Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) and Marine Biotechnology.  In addition to the support from the state Government, these centres get massive funding from the Department of Science and Technology and the Ministry of Human Resources Development (HRD), Government of India.  The Union Ministry of HRD has declared the School of Legal Studies as a Depository of IPR and an IPR chair has been introduced.  Another prestigious chair introduced by the Ministry of HRD is the Rajiv Gandhi Chair on Sustainable Development.  By giving recognition to several well-established premier research institutions in the country and the Southern Naval Caoomand of Indian Navy, the University has brought within its reach the resources available in these institutions for the use of the academic community.  Specializations are available in almost all Faculties / Departments for higher studeis and research. 

Present :
Cast in the mould of a federal University, distinctly different from other Universities in the State, today CUSAT is a premier Science and Technology University of the country.  While striving to live up to the expectations of the society, the University has made quantum leaps in its academic pursuits and has spread its wings far and wide to encompass new and emerging frontiers across the academic horizon.
True to the legacy of being the most friendly state with avowed dedication to education, CUSAT is home for students from across the globe.  The University rises to the expectations of student community by offering very specialized courses in Naval Architecture, Polymer Technology, Photonics, Safety and Fire Engineering and Marine Engineering apart from a host of traditional science and engineering courses.  The University takes pride in the fact that it has an envious record in campus selection and is a favourite destination for many renowned MNC for recruitment.  CUSAT is also proud that its alumni adorn key positions in large number of highly acclaimed R & D institutions and companies in India and abroad.  This pool of highly successful and talented alumni is a living testimony to the aspirations of this University. 

CUSAT is academically structured into 10 faculties: Architecture, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Humanities, Law, Marine Sciences, Medical Sciences & Technology, Science, Social Sciences and Technology.

Teaching Departments / Schools
CUSAT has at present 27 Departments of study and research offering Graduate and Post Graduate programmes across a wide spectrum of disciplines in frontier areas of engineering, science, technology, humanities, law & management.   
During the last four and a half decades of its existence, CUSAT has registered steady growth and has earned recognition as one of the highly reputed and internationally acclaimed Indian Universities. The University has academic links and exchange programmes with several institutions across the globe. The emergence of CUSAT as the single Indian University to be chosen for long-term financial assistance by the Government of Netherlands under the MHO programme eloquently testifies to its proud record of academic achievements and strengths.

Centre of Excellence
In recognition of the strength, achievement and acclaim in the area of lasers and optoelectronics, the University was selected by the UGC in 2002 for the establishment of a ‘Centre of Excellence in Lasers and Optoelectronic Science’ with the aim of producing and sustaining superior quality in education and research.

To encourage as well as promote collaborative and multi-disciplinary interaction, several centres in specialized thematic areas have been established by the University. 
Conceived as umbrella organizations for inter-faculty interaction and joint enterprises,  aimed at wholesome integration, assimilation and dissemination of knowledge beyond all sectarian confines, these Centres are expected to engage themselves in unfettered intellectual pursuits.

Partners in Progress
Driven by its passion to venture beyond the beaten track, CUSAT has identified selected institutions of eminence as ‘Partners in Progress’. Also, it has accorded the status of ‘Recognized Institution’ to a host of professional institutions, national laboratories and research organizations of repute in the State. This has catalyzed the spread of quality education and has paved the way for healthy interaction between academicians and scientists.   


There are three separate campuses, two in Cochin and one at Pulinkunnoo, Alleppey about 65 kms south of Cochin.

Main (Trikkakara) Campus
The Main Campus is located 1 km off the National Highway 47 at South Kalamassery.  About 180 acres in extent, it houses the academic Departments / Schools in all the Faculties (except in Marine Sciences), the Administrative Office, the University Library, the student hostels and staff quarters besides other support services.

City (Lakeside) Campus
The Lakeside Campus, 12 km away from the Main Campus, has an idyllic setting in the heart of the City on the estuarine water front. The Departments / Schools in the Faculty of Marine Sciences are located in this campus alongside a hostel for men students.

Pulinkunnoo Campus
The Pulinkunnoo Campus in Kuttanad (Alleppey District) is about 65 km away from the Main Campus. Kuttanad comprises Kerala’s serene, picturesque backwaters, the enrapturing scenic beauty of which is to be seen to be believed.  The Pulinkunnoo Campus is home to the Cochin University College of Engineering, Kuttanad (CUCEK).